American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Review)


⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

(Mild spoilers ahead)
So, I lost my Neil Gaiman virginity! Do I get literary points for that?

This was a pleasant read. Now, I have to confess, I don’t usually read a lot of fantasy. Correction: I don’t read any fantasy. If it weren’t for my wonderful boyfriend’s suggestion I wouldn’t have picked this up and I’m glad I did.

What is American Gods about? It’s about a man named Shadow caught between two worlds, wittingly and unwittingly. It’s the clash between the Classical gods of a bygone era and the modern gods of the technological present. In a world that increasingly worships television, media and the internet the old gods are pushed into the margins of society: prostitution, roguery, and other odd jobs indulging in alcoholism and in general, leading shitty lives. The premise sucked me in and I couldn’t stop reading. The middle bits were the weakest, though, and kept it from being a solid five stars.

I loved Shadow’s characterisation. He is the calm during the storm. Shadow has this i-don’t-give-a-fuck attitude which becomes more nuanced when you see all of his layers. After his release from prison, he learns about the death of his wife. While he’s half mourning, half wondering what the fuck to do with his life, he meets Mr. Wednesday and is pulled into an adventure. There’s a bit of mythology in there, if that’s your thing, and it’s got many thought-provoking ideas about religion and/or belief-systems. Overall, American Gods is fun. I can’t wait to read more Gaiman. You should check it out it if you haven’t already 💁

Leave a Reply

