Booktube-a-thon 2017 Update

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 7.35.53 pm

Challenges completed: 2

Books completed: 3, total pages: 874

Enjoyment level: 100%

The week started off with a whimper. I planned on reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and finishing the first challenge soon but alas, a hundred pages in and I wasn’t feeling it. I put it aside (gasp) and picked up Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman. Absolutely fell in love with it and finished it in two days. For this book, I completed the ‘read a hyped book’ challenge. Next, I decided to pick up A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams because it is the shortest book in the world. The story was really… interesting. Remind me why it’s so famous again? Maybe the literary nuances were lost on me. This play was for the challenge ‘pick a book with a person on the cover.’ Marlon Brando is a person. And the other woman who he’s kneeling in front of (Side note: I really have to watch the movie adaptation soon).

My third and final book for the week didn’t fulfil any challenges. Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough is batshit insane. I was hoping to finish it in a day, damn you nighttime and treacherous sleep. Psssh! Anyway, I finished it during the next morning. Highly recommended. I really enjoyed this week, and I wouldn’t ever have finished 3 novels in a week if it wasn’t for booktube-a-thon. My TBR is growing everyday but sadly there aren’t enough hours in a day. I read at a snail’s pace, fam. You understand my pain!

Leave a Reply

